you're reading...
IES - "Investing in Educational Success", NZEI, PPTA

IES Communities of Schools – who’s joined so far?

Out of over 2,500 schools in NZ, only a small number (listed below) seem to have so far joined the IES (Investing in Educational Success) clusters of schools.

Of the almost 2000 primary and intermediate schools, only 58 have signed up according to this list.

Given NZEI are currently negotiating their Better Plan initiative and the strong NZEI vote against IES in August 2014, it is intriguing that even 58 schools have signed up.  There are rumours whirling that some schools were signed up against their wishes, but I have no firm evidence for this, so who knows.

And given the PPTA and high schools’ much more positive reaction to IES, it’s perhaps a little surprising so few colleges that have joined at this point.

It’s interesting to look at the Auckland clusters, where all but three schools are decile 9 and 10 and the lowest decile school is 7, and consider why that might be and how much value that is adding to the overall fabric of our education system.  Where are the lower decile schools, and why?

And no charter schools.  Why?

Anyway, there is much to ponder, and IES and the Better Plan will unfold as the year goes on.

For now, here are the lists – make of them what you will:

IES Southern Area


IES Mount Hutt

IES Malvern

IES Buller

IES Blenheim

IES Nelson

IES Picton

IES Napier City

IES Napier

IES Auckland central


IES mid bays

If you know of any not listed here, or listed by accident, please let us know.  And, of course, comments are always welcome.

~ Dianne


Sources and further info:


About Save Our Schools NZ

"One needs to be slow to form convictions, but once formed they must be defended against the heaviest odds." Gandhi


6 thoughts on “IES Communities of Schools – who’s joined so far?

  1. How does 58 primary and intermediate schools plus some high schools = 17% as stated by our dear Hekia?
    And I’m extraordinarily pleased that no Waikato schools are listed.


    Posted by Melulater | February 6, 2015, 10:39 pm
  2. so fantastic that there are NO Southland Schools – well done Southland


    Posted by Rebecca Crawford | February 6, 2015, 11:27 pm
  3. The Auckland Central Community of Schools has Parnell District School on the list as one of the 12 schools but it is not on the map, while Royal Oak School is shown on the map as part of the cluster but is not named on the list. Can anyone clarify if Royal Oak School is in this cluster?


    Posted by Brigid | February 7, 2015, 10:59 am
  4. Some of these schools have NOT committed to IES. I know of at least one on this list who has not officially decided yet, so I don’t know how they are including them in the groups of committed schools… I call BS.


    Posted by Fran | March 5, 2015, 9:40 am


  1. Pingback: Inequalities of IES exposed – NZEI | Save Our Schools NZ - March 23, 2015

  2. Pingback: The List: What This Government Has Done To Education (Part 2) | Save Our Schools NZ - March 23, 2015

Share your thoughts:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow Save Our Schools NZ on

Category list:


%d bloggers like this: